Founded in 1650 by the Count Giuseppe Mario Cutelli and Sir Antonio Cicala, Valledolmo is located in the valley between the small mountain of Pizzo Sampieri (m. 1081- 1182 yrd) , Mount Campanaro and it streches out towards Cammarata Mountain (m. 1576 - 1723 yrd). Originally called also Castel Normanno, it was later called Valle dell'Ulmo, Elm Valley (due to the presence in the valley of a gigantic elm tree) and from the second half of the past centuryit the town has been known as Valledolmo.
The Town is developed around a large one castle like structure house of the barony that owned it, still today it is visible the courtyard known as "Baglio Castellana". The necessity of the time of moving towards more fertile areas and to find richest pastures convinced many peasants families, who lived in other towns, to move in the new build Valledolmo.
To be Visited:
- The Church of the Holy Spirits (originally Church of the Madonna of the Good Thought) built in the 16th Century;
- The Cathedral, dedicated to the Holy Conception of the B.V.M. built in the 17th Century, in there it can be found the exceptional artistic gem that is the wooden and golden statue of the Holy Virgin;
- The Church of the Holy Mary of Mercy a.k.a. New Church, built in 1845. In this Church it can be found the marvellous Crucifix , rappresentative of the School of Civiletti;
- Baglio Castellana, feudal palace, house of Count Cutelli, situated in the Town center.